From the Desk of Emmy| I call bulls$%t

I have to admit, I wasn’t really even signed up for “Media in Social Work” until a week before the semester started. I registered for the course on a whim with a friend when she found out people had dropped it and spaces were open. Since it was going to be my last semester in graduate school, and I heard the course was great and Professor Angulo is amazing, I thought, “Why not?” and clicked register in My Course Bin.

Then came the first day of class, and I found out why those spaces were open a week before the start of the semester – Angulo apparently had sent out an email with the course work attached, and it looked like A LOT of work. I will say that I did contemplate dropping the class because I was not sure I really wanted to do that much work for my last semester, but ultimately decided to stay for my own selfish reasons which I won’t go into depth about – also read as “I want my resume to show that I’m capable of more than just clinical social work and that I am well-rounded.”

When the day came to pitch our documentary proposals and I heard what Sarah’s idea was, I knew that if hers was in the top 7 voted for, I wanted to work with her on it. Race. White Privilege. Interracial couples and relationships. And all in the Trump political climate. Yes, count me in! I crossed my fingers that I would be able to work on Sarah’s vision alongside her, and I put her doc as my first choice to work on. I can’t even tell you what my second and third choices were because if I had gotten either one of them, it would have been something I was not really excited about working on.

As many of you already know, I am biracial. My mom is Caucasian and my dad is Vietnamese. Aaaaaaand, sorry for my politically incorrectness, I’m attracted and typically date black men. So this idea for a film really spoke to me, both on the surface level and a deep level, which I will explain later. However, I just wanted to throw it out there now in case anyone reading this wasn’t aware.

I’m excited to be making this film with Sarah. As she mentioned, it’s a lot of effin work, and it is hard, and our topic is something a number of people aren’t comfortable acknowledging or talking about. Many would rather say that they don’t see color, that we live in a colorblind society, or that they understand because they “have a black friend.” I call bulls$%t! There is a lot more to it than that, and I’m hoping people will realize this through our doc.

Like Sarah, I am humbled and eternally grateful for the incredible people who are joining us on this journey. I hope come May 10th when our film premieres in the festival at the LA Independent Theatre, our audience will feel the same and recognize their bravery and love.

Leave a Reply

