From the Desk of Emmy | “Now you know what it feels like to be a minority”

If you have not watched it, Hasan Minhaj spoke at the White House Correspondent’s Dinner last night, and killed it. One of the moments that really spoke out to me though came at the end, when he talks about the journalists, and how they need to work twice as hard these days to prove themselves. He says “Now you know what it feels like to be a minority…” and I feel like this is an idea and topic that came up in some of the stories Sarah and I heard from the pairs we interviewed – this idea that people say some of the black people are the “good ones” or how they have to prove themselves…

Anyways, I’ve included the clip of the moment where he talks about minorities below, but even further down I have included the entire monologue.

Also, comedian and political gadfly W. Kamau Bell returns with season 2 of “United Shades of America” tonight, and you can follow him as he explores the far corners of our country and its various groups and subcultures. I’m excited to watch because I saw a trailer for it where a man says he wants to “bathe in his white privilege”…which is a word we discussed with our pairs. I’ve included the clip that caught my eye below as well…I seriously just want to punch Mr. Spencer after watching it and am excited but scared to see how this goes this evening.

Below is the full monologue

Leave a Reply

